Southwestern University – PHINMA

Southwestern_University_img Southwestern_University_img

The Southwestern University (SWU), officially the Southwestern University PHINMA, is a private university in Cebu City, Philippines founded in 1946 by two pharmacists.


Southwestern University originally started as Southwestern Colleges in the summer of 1946 and became a university on December 11, 1959. The university and its base hospital were acquired by PHINMA Education, a subsidiary of PHINMA in 2015.

The university was renamed to Southwestern University PHINMA and the hospital from Sacred Heart Hospital to Southwestern University Medical Center. The university changed the logo and closed its South Campus in Basak San Nicolas, Cebu City.

Eligibility Condition

  • NEET Qualified.
  • 50% in 12th class with Physics, Biology, and Chemistry.
  • 40% marks required for reserve category candidates.
  • Minimum age required is 17, students completing 17 till 31 December of admission year are also eligible.

Department of the university

  • Doctor of Medicine.