Kursk State Medical University

Kursk_University_img Kursk_University_img

Kursk State Medical University is a Russian medical university located in Kursk, western Russia, established in 1935. In 1994 it was granted university status.


The decision to create a medical institute was taken in 1935, and the first class of students began their studies in September of that year. The construction of the university buildings was not finished until 1940, which is also when the first group of medical doctors graduated.

Between December 1941 and January 1944, the institute was evacuated to Alma-Ata and formed part of the Kazakh Medical Institute. The institute was re-opened in 1944.

It was established in 1935 as Kursk Medical Institute and was granted university status in 1994. In 2020 the international Medical Institute was established.

The institute is a new division of KSMU, but it is based on many years of the university experience in the international activities and traditions established in the early 90s of the last century .

Eligibility Condition

  • NEET Qualified.
  • 50% in 12th class with Physics, Biology, and Chemistry.
  • 40% marks required for reserve category candidates.
  • Minimum age required is 17, students completing 17 till 31 December of admission year are also eligible.

Departments of the university

  • Nuclear Medicine.
  • Faculty of Medicine.
  • Medical Physics.
  • Computer Medical Systems.
  • Institute of Pharmacy.
  • Faculty of Dentistry.
  • Psychology.